The Interfraternity Council is a self-governing body comprised of fraternal members at the University of New Hampshire. Consisting of seven executive board positions and one chapter delegate per fraternity, the council strives to bring a community of excellence to the University. The Interfraternity Council continues to promote quality in all aspects of fraternity life, uphold academic excellence, improve member development and bring service to the Durham community. Further, IFC develops policy, promotes educational programming, coordinates system-wide community service efforts, and fosters inter-Greek relations.


The Interfraternity Council of the University of New Hampshire was founded in 1905 under the name Casque and Casket; its original members included:

  • Zeta Epsilon Zeta
  • Kappa Sigma
  • Delta Chi
  • Alpha Zeta
  • Beta Phi
  • Gamma Theta

Over the years, fraternities have come and gone, some closed and others joined national fraternities. By the 1940’s, the Casque and Casket officially changed its name to the InterFraternity Council and it has overseen and served as the official judicial conduct board for all of the recognized fraternities at the University of New Hampshire since that time.